So, bidding has started at Sweet Charity!!
*jitters*
sweptawaybayou is up for sale, as are a *number* of other awesome, amazing people from my flist. You really want to go and browse and bid! Yes, yes you do!
*shoos*
This i gakked from over at
mustangsally78's lj. I thought - why not? :)
1. Do you have the guts to answer these questions and re-post as The Controversial Survey?
Yup
2. Would you do meth if it was legal?
No way in hell. Take a drug made from drain cleaner and brake fluid, mixed together in some filthy kitchen lab by a meth-addled loser? HA.
3. Abortion: for or against it?
I'm for it being available, and i also have no problems with the procedure itself.
4. Do you think the world would fail with a female president?
Um? No....? That's a weird question.
5. Do you believe in the death penalty?
I do. If you kill someone for no reason? You have lost the right to live. If you rape someone? Ditto. Molest a child? You're outta here. I'm not convinced that the right person is on death row every time, and that needs to be worked on, hard, but when the person is guilty without a doubt? End them.
6. Do you wish marijuana would be legalized already?
Gods yes. Look how much trouble alcohol causes! Pretty much every person i know in RL smokes it. They all have jobs/families/good lives. Not seeing a problem.
7. Are you for or against premarital sex?
I'm all for it. So long as it's not my daughter doing it.
8. Do you believe in God?
Which one? And no, anyway - don't believe in any of 'em.
9. Do you think same sex marriage should be legalized?
Hell yes. Have at it!
10. Do you think it's wrong that so many Hispanics are illegally moving to the USA?
Nope. Doesn't bother me a bit. I think it should be easier for them to get here *legally*.
11. A twelve year old girl has a baby, should she keep it?
Gods no. See my answer to the abortion question. This? Applies.
12. Should the alcohol age be lowered to eighteen?
Most people are too stupid to drink legally at 30, much less 18. Hell no.
13. Should the war in Iraq be called off?
Should have been ended *ages* ago. Ages.
14. Assisted suicide is illegal: do you agree?
Nope. If you are terminal, miserable, whatever, and want to die? You should be allowed to die. Your life, your choice.
15. Do you believe in spanking your children?
The Monstrous has been spanked before, mostly when she was littler. It hasn't happened in a while. I don't think it's the worst thing you can do to your kid, but it's not always a good thing.
16. Would you burn an American flag for a million dollars?
Eh. Probably. It's just cloth. The ideals? Go on.
17. Who do you think would make a better president: McCain or Obama?
*falls to the floor in a fit of hysterical laughter*
Um. Obama. Jayzus.
18. Are you afraid others will judge you from reading some of your answers?
Nope. People will judge or not judge, doesn't bother me.
*jitters*
*shoos*
This i gakked from over at
1. Do you have the guts to answer these questions and re-post as The Controversial Survey?
Yup
2. Would you do meth if it was legal?
No way in hell. Take a drug made from drain cleaner and brake fluid, mixed together in some filthy kitchen lab by a meth-addled loser? HA.
3. Abortion: for or against it?
I'm for it being available, and i also have no problems with the procedure itself.
4. Do you think the world would fail with a female president?
Um? No....? That's a weird question.
5. Do you believe in the death penalty?
I do. If you kill someone for no reason? You have lost the right to live. If you rape someone? Ditto. Molest a child? You're outta here. I'm not convinced that the right person is on death row every time, and that needs to be worked on, hard, but when the person is guilty without a doubt? End them.
6. Do you wish marijuana would be legalized already?
Gods yes. Look how much trouble alcohol causes! Pretty much every person i know in RL smokes it. They all have jobs/families/good lives. Not seeing a problem.
7. Are you for or against premarital sex?
I'm all for it. So long as it's not my daughter doing it.
8. Do you believe in God?
Which one? And no, anyway - don't believe in any of 'em.
9. Do you think same sex marriage should be legalized?
Hell yes. Have at it!
10. Do you think it's wrong that so many Hispanics are illegally moving to the USA?
Nope. Doesn't bother me a bit. I think it should be easier for them to get here *legally*.
11. A twelve year old girl has a baby, should she keep it?
Gods no. See my answer to the abortion question. This? Applies.
12. Should the alcohol age be lowered to eighteen?
Most people are too stupid to drink legally at 30, much less 18. Hell no.
13. Should the war in Iraq be called off?
Should have been ended *ages* ago. Ages.
14. Assisted suicide is illegal: do you agree?
Nope. If you are terminal, miserable, whatever, and want to die? You should be allowed to die. Your life, your choice.
15. Do you believe in spanking your children?
The Monstrous has been spanked before, mostly when she was littler. It hasn't happened in a while. I don't think it's the worst thing you can do to your kid, but it's not always a good thing.
16. Would you burn an American flag for a million dollars?
Eh. Probably. It's just cloth. The ideals? Go on.
17. Who do you think would make a better president: McCain or Obama?
*falls to the floor in a fit of hysterical laughter*
Um. Obama. Jayzus.
18. Are you afraid others will judge you from reading some of your answers?
Nope. People will judge or not judge, doesn't bother me.
no subject
I'm with you in that survey every step of the way. As for #12, the legal age over here is 18. As much as I sorely wish it wasn't, because nobody seems to understand that they are allowed to stop drinking before they fall down/puke/punch out their best friend, the sad fact is that most kids are getting pissed out of their skulls long before they're of age, and by the time they are old enough to go out and drink in adult establishments, they're too used to overindulging to be able to drink responsibly.
no subject
:)
*smooch*
no subject
Your opinions, they are sensible and generous, I think.
Julia, we differ on capital punishment, but I've made too many exceptions in my own mind to find that a problem
no subject
:)
I have a lot of trouble feeling sorry for or caring about someone who kills indiscriminately, rapes, or hurts kids. It angers me to imagine someone - like that guy that's now 'too fat' to be given lethal injection living *longer* in prison than the two girls he killed. Just. Not. Right.
But i do admit freely that the courts are not always fair, balanced, or *correct*. We truly do need to do something about *that* before we do any kind of massive death-row clear-out.
no subject
no subject
I am just a mean old lady. Get off my lawn!!
*waves cane*
:)
no subject
WOOT
no subject
Cool.
:)
*basks in Deans approval*
no subject
no subject
My flisties and me, we're like - twins!
*giggles*
And poor you! Where in the world must you live to never hear *that*?
*pet pet pet*
no subject
and sadly, texas. (though in austin, so even when i'm dissapointed by the whole conservative thing, i do get surprised every day by the die-hard liberals, but... I miss living in truly liberal places)
no subject
*shivers*
Skeery. I'd probably be having shouting matches with my neighbors every day. Heh. I'm not much good at biting my tongue.
no subject
That is an iiinteresting meme. I think I need to do it.
no subject
:)
If i had money, i'd be bidding for sure. Darn my poor memory that forgets about those lotto tickets every time!
This meme was fun, a bit in-your-face. Why not!
*using this icon 'cause i almost never do and i *like* it!*
no subject
Indeed. It's a thinky meme as well.
*it's so pretty! You should have more changes to use it!*
no subject
Money tree! Yes!
:)
no subject
no subject
no subject
Will the world fail with a female president? Well, no more than it's failed with the long line of male ones, yeah? *giggle*
no subject
And really - what a silly question! Women are not more fallible than men, and no more capable or incapable of 'ruling' then men. Although i would suspect a woman 'ruler' would get more flack from the disgruntled men around her...
no subject
no subject
Why did eight surprise you? I'm curious.
no subject
Well, I'm not sure. Maybe because of the recent conversation we've had about God. :-) Maybe because of your stories, too. Also, I tend to assume that most people believe in god; I always feel like people look at me as a heathen when I tell them I don't.
and yet none of these things are really topics of conversation all that often
Heh. Well, I mostly write about fannish stuff on my Journal, I don't really talk about big issues, or even about my personal life, for that matter. But if it comes up somewhere I might participate in a discussion, depending on my mood.
no subject
I generally tell people i'm a pagan, because holding the Earth and all things that live on her sacred appeal to me, but i don't believe that there is a wise, big-breasted woman somewhere out in the aether named 'Gaia' who's watching over us all or whatever. Any more than i believe *pick your god/dess* is out there, in any way, shape or form. I can't make that 'leap of faith' and trust in the unseen. At least not when i comes to my life.
I *do* think that there are forces and energies that are not 'human', per se, and are unknown and powerful, but only because i've had some weird experiences in my life. Things - collect. Energy never dies. It has an effect, somewhere, somehow. What it might be, or how much, is hard to say. My mother is sad i don't believe, and i'm glad she takes comfort in her own faith, but it's just...not in me.
However, the rich mine of religious mythos is too wonderful *not* to tap for story purposes, so there will always be some thread of that somewhere in my writing, i suspect.
And yeah, discussions about these sort of things usually end badly, heh, so i tend to avoid them, too.
no subject
and this meme? am I bad for wondering why on earth this is controversial? (=agreement with you)
I particularly like your answer to #4:) It's my answer to a lot of these questions, like #11, tho I probably wouldn't have been so polite about it!
and as for # 5- Glad to see you don't support a double standard- why should people who don't believe others have basic rights get to have basic rights themselves?
14, is kind of a duh- punish people for being incapable of helping themselves? euww.- and since 18 year-olds are considered old enough to vote and to die for their country, I guess #12 should be taken as an argument against alcohol?
And as for # 18? One can only hope so...:)
no subject
*hums*
It's my lj and i'll be rude if i want to, rude if i want to.... :)
On five - exactly. Some people should just be dead.
Twelve...it probably is. I'd much prefer people get stoned than drunk, since my experience with *most* drinkers has been universally bad/annoying/revolting. Alcohol really is a sort of demon drug.
no subject
(plus if it was my daughter i would kill her!)
no subject
I can't begin to imagine the horrors of a *twelve* year old trying to be a parent - just not possible. And not 'good', in my mind, for either person.
And yes, better sex-ed and kids not being pushed to be so adult so soon would be *much* the better solution.
no subject
no subject
no subject
:)
no subject
:-)
no subject
Exactly! Hehehe. Or 'is incest icky? discuss!'.
Or - the biggest one - was Spike or Angel the better boyfriend for Buffy?
*ducks flying tomatoes*
no subject
Interessting survey. I agree with most of the answers.
no subject
No you haven't!
:)
*waves*
*hugs*
Hope everything's going well.
no subject
4. I dunno about female presidents, but I think that question fails.
6. I know a guy who wanted to go to Amsterdam so he could smoke pot legally. Never smoked in the US, would only smoke it if it was legal to do so. Hence, Amsterdam. I mocked him mercilessly for that.
8. Really? Whoa. The more I learn about you, the cooler you are. Unlike most people.
10. It's not gonna be a "problem" for much longer. With the way our economy is, I think there's gonna be a mass exodus to south of the border.
12. Ah, a divergence! If you're old enough to die in a foreign country, or put a politician in office, you're old enough to drink. Of course, the inverse rule applies. And most people aren't old enough to drink at thirty. Or vote. I have yet to meet someone old enough to die in a foreign country.
14. Agreed, but it'd be pretty hard to watch-dog that, and make sure people weren't being shuffled off the mortal coil prematurely by greedy relatives.
18. Well, I judge you . . . and find you guilty of being awesome. The sentence:
HUGS!!!!!!
::hugs::
no subject
That question fails *hard*. Of course, if we're talking about Palin, then yes - huge, massive, horrible failure.
Heeee! I've smoked pot. My motion sickness kicked in and it was dreadful. Anything that makes me dizzy, well.... Not a good thing.
You think my radical non-god stance is cool! Heeee! :)
I'm thinking with our new pres in two and a half weeks, things will start looking up.
You're right. At eighteen, you are *not* old enough to die in a foreign country. Blah.
You'd need an outside agency that someone would contact and who would monitor things. People who were *not* freaks in disguise, doing anything and everything to prolong the life of someone dying by miserable inches. It could work.
*hugs back*
Hi!
:)
no subject
Huh. Meth'd be one of several drugs--heroin, pcp, crack--I wouldn't touch with a ten meter cattle prod. I see that was a wise choice.
That question fails *hard*. Of course, if we're talking about Palin, then yes - huge, massive, horrible failure.
Yes. She thinks Jesus rode a brontosaurus to work every morning. She must never be allowed near The Button.
Heeee! I've smoked pot. My motion sickness kicked in and it was dreadful. Anything that makes me dizzy, well.... Not a good thing.
Downers are fine, for me. I get giggly, I get paranoid, I get hungry, I get sleepy, I get dry mouth. Uppers . . . I don't fare so well on. And I can't imagine me on hallucinogenics. All the weird crap I've worked so hard to repress getting dredged up in 3D form sounds . . . hellish.
And if I saw a giant cockroach trying to eat me, I'd have a heart attack and die.
You think my radical non-god stance is cool! Heeee! :)
I think the idea of an all-knowing, all-seeing, all-hearing sky wizard that loves everyone is nice, but highly unlikely. And from a scientific standpoint, it's . . . I can't think of a kind, inoffensive word for laughable.
::shrugs::
It's just not the sort of thing I can take on faith. When it comes to gods, I too am from Missouri.
I'm thinking with our new pres in two and a half weeks, things will start looking up.
Hopefully. With the kind of debt we're looking at, I dunno how Obama, if he wins, will work his wonders. It'll be interesting, if nothing else. McCain . . . the best I could hope for if he wins, is that he lives long enough to serve his term, and that if he dies, he takes Palin with him.
You're right. At eighteen, you are *not* old enough to die in a foreign country. Blah.
:( you are if you wanna get a college education, sadly. I hear college is free, in a lot of countries.
You'd need an outside agency that someone would contact and who would monitor things. People who were *not* freaks in disguise, doing anything and everything to prolong the life of someone dying by miserable inches. It could work.
But it wouldn't be cost effective to anyone. It'd never happen. There's more money in keeping terminal patients alive, than in letting them die with dignity.
*hugs back*
Hi!
:)
Aw, g'wan wi' ya!