Hello!
It's been a while, hasn't it? I've been not doing much, fic/fandom wise besides reading, and while it's nice, it's also frustrating. I *like* writing! I'm just kind of...stuck on a couple things and it's taking way too long to fix them/figure them out. Bah. But, writing, yes, bits and bobs and dribs and drabs.
And Supernatural is back! Wheeeeeeee! Hiatus seemed to last *forever and ever and ever, omg!* and we were all getting a little punchy. Now the first episode of season four has aired and it was *so good* and *so awesome* and i see great things ahead!!
I wrote a little snippet of a thing over at
lunabee34's lj. She said: So, a while ago,
thelastgoodname and I were talking about running a multifandom challenge or a ficathon that focused on the subject of women thinking about/dealing with/interacting with/commenting on/something-we-didn't-think-of their hair. That time is now.
Sentence fic! Drabbles! Something longer! PG, R, NC-17! Gen, femslash, het! All fandoms and all interpretations of this challenge welcome. Just put your fandom in the subject line so that we're all on the same page.
ETA: This challenge refers to any kind of hair! Head hair! Leg hair! Pubic hair! Armpit hair! Lack of hair!
So i went for it. Typed it up in the reply box, and I'm re-posting here. The original challenge and all the subsequent ficlets people have posted are right here. Be sure to check them out!
Title from Hamlet, the "I am but mad..." lines.
The first dry snip of the blades sent a little twist of nausea through Megan's belly, but she ground her teeth together and ignored it. Snipped again, and again, going a little faster - getting a little sloppier as the long, mousy-brown strands piled up in the sink.
When she was done, her neck seemed longer - her chin more sharply pointed - and she bent over the tub and rubbed furiously, watching little bits and ends drift down onto the pale green porcelain. Sea-foam, Dinner Mint, Spring Crystal, God only knows....
The gloves from the box were stiff and flimsy, ill fitting. The bleach - the color - brought tears to Megan's eyes. Made her nose sting. Just the dye. Honey Blonde, Swedish Blonde, Light Summer Sun, what am I, Summer, Winter, out of here, I'm so out of here....
She scrubbed the towel through her hair - looked at the girl in the mirror. New girl - pretty girl. Girl whose eyes seemed big and cat-slanted. Whose mouth was sweetly pink. Girl who had one thousand and eighty-three dollars and a knife in her pack. Four pair of jeans and ten shirts and all the underwear and bras she could cram in; all the Tampax from the house. Girl who was going places, doing things - not running away, just....
Sonic boom, earthquake, what? Megan blinked - felt her mouth stretching in a grin - felt her hands lifting up to fluff her new hair. Lift a stick of dark-brown eyeliner and make the edges of her eyes dark and mysterious. Eyes that flickered and went liquid, solid black and Megan screamed.
But - "Hey, Megan. I think I wanna be called Meg. That's got more punch, don'tcha think?" Megan's tongue flicked out, touching her upper lip - Megan's feet pivoted and she sauntered out of the bathroom and Megan...wasn't there at all.
Amazingly unpopular fannish opinion re: the premiere. Not non-squeeful, just....
Dean climbing out of the grave? Was not an homage to Buffy. It was not a rip-off of Buffy. It had *nothing to do with Buffy*. Gods.
Okay. I just wanted to vent that. I'm good now.
It's been a while, hasn't it? I've been not doing much, fic/fandom wise besides reading, and while it's nice, it's also frustrating. I *like* writing! I'm just kind of...stuck on a couple things and it's taking way too long to fix them/figure them out. Bah. But, writing, yes, bits and bobs and dribs and drabs.
And Supernatural is back! Wheeeeeeee! Hiatus seemed to last *forever and ever and ever, omg!* and we were all getting a little punchy. Now the first episode of season four has aired and it was *so good* and *so awesome* and i see great things ahead!!
I wrote a little snippet of a thing over at
Sentence fic! Drabbles! Something longer! PG, R, NC-17! Gen, femslash, het! All fandoms and all interpretations of this challenge welcome. Just put your fandom in the subject line so that we're all on the same page.
ETA: This challenge refers to any kind of hair! Head hair! Leg hair! Pubic hair! Armpit hair! Lack of hair!
So i went for it. Typed it up in the reply box, and I'm re-posting here. The original challenge and all the subsequent ficlets people have posted are right here. Be sure to check them out!
Title from Hamlet, the "I am but mad..." lines.
The first dry snip of the blades sent a little twist of nausea through Megan's belly, but she ground her teeth together and ignored it. Snipped again, and again, going a little faster - getting a little sloppier as the long, mousy-brown strands piled up in the sink.
When she was done, her neck seemed longer - her chin more sharply pointed - and she bent over the tub and rubbed furiously, watching little bits and ends drift down onto the pale green porcelain. Sea-foam, Dinner Mint, Spring Crystal, God only knows....
The gloves from the box were stiff and flimsy, ill fitting. The bleach - the color - brought tears to Megan's eyes. Made her nose sting. Just the dye. Honey Blonde, Swedish Blonde, Light Summer Sun, what am I, Summer, Winter, out of here, I'm so out of here....
She scrubbed the towel through her hair - looked at the girl in the mirror. New girl - pretty girl. Girl whose eyes seemed big and cat-slanted. Whose mouth was sweetly pink. Girl who had one thousand and eighty-three dollars and a knife in her pack. Four pair of jeans and ten shirts and all the underwear and bras she could cram in; all the Tampax from the house. Girl who was going places, doing things - not running away, just....
Sonic boom, earthquake, what? Megan blinked - felt her mouth stretching in a grin - felt her hands lifting up to fluff her new hair. Lift a stick of dark-brown eyeliner and make the edges of her eyes dark and mysterious. Eyes that flickered and went liquid, solid black and Megan screamed.
But - "Hey, Megan. I think I wanna be called Meg. That's got more punch, don'tcha think?" Megan's tongue flicked out, touching her upper lip - Megan's feet pivoted and she sauntered out of the bathroom and Megan...wasn't there at all.
Amazingly unpopular fannish opinion re: the premiere. Not non-squeeful, just....
Dean climbing out of the grave? Was not an homage to Buffy. It was not a rip-off of Buffy. It had *nothing to do with Buffy*. Gods.
Okay. I just wanted to vent that. I'm good now.
no subject
*hugs*
Loved the premiere. It brought up an idea that's been plaguing me for awhile, that everything has its opposite. Had to wait for damn ever to see that episode though.
Hadn't thought of Buffy during the grave scene oddly enough. I did think vampires though...
no subject
:)
Yes - it just seemed too unfair for there to be evil things and demons all over and not one thing of 'good'. Or so-called good, heh. Angels, in my opinion, are skeery as hell.
no subject
Buffy? Grave? Whachootalkinbout?
*G*
no subject
Thank you thank you!
Heh.
I have seen that *all over*!! I shouldn't let it bother me.....
*twirls you*
no subject
and loved the snippet!
no subject
*is smug*
And thank you!
no subject
:)
Always leaves me wanting more, as usual.
And Buffy /=/ Dean. Sheesh. Agrees all over the place.
*smooch*
no subject
Thank you, bay-bee.
no subject
And are people really bitching about Buffy? It was a great show. Joss Whedon rocks and I'll certainly be watching his newest project "Dollhouse", but honestly... there's only so many ways to have someone crawl out of their own grave. It's not stealing, it's just crawling out of a grave yo.
no subject
Poor Megan. Thank you!
Well, i wouldn't say 'bitching', just being all 'oh, yeah, fanboy Kripke did an homage' and really, just.... No.
I like Buffy and Angel, too, but just...stoppit now.
:)
no subject
JMGLO, YMMV. :)
no subject
:)
no subject
I didn't even realize people were saying that...but like, uh, haven't they ever seen zombie movies?
no subject
no subject
Completely. You think Buffy was the first show that did that with the way they've been going on about it.
Plus SPN was kinda scary as hell with Dean all raspy voiced and then the dirt coming down *shudder* Besides with shows in the same fantasy/horror vein certain tropes of the genre are going to be present. Doesn't mean anyone's copying anyone else. Sheesh.
Also that snippet? Damn cool. Just... yeah.
no subject
I *loved* his voice being all fucked up, the dirt and the bloody nails, the way he just lay there in the grass...
Yeah. :)
And thank you!
no subject
Ouch, poor Megan! That's so not what should happen in the middle of a lifechanging makeover.
:D
And, no, why would one think of Buffy, except that she's one of dozens of other characters who've crawled out of a grave? (Maybe these people have never seen a vampire flick? Is that even remotely possible? sheesh)
no subject
Poor Megan. :) Thanks!
I think it's great to love your dead, gay show but just...don't make every *other* show about it.
no subject
*hands* It just is.
no subject
...what, that's a totally valid life choice.
no subject
I rather enjoyed Meg, too....
no subject
*coughs*
Sorry, I just woke up, I can't be held responsible for anything I say for at least another hour.
no subject
Talk about taking your life into your hands.....
:)
no subject
no subject
There aren't enough Meg fics!
no subject
I haven't seen a lot, no. It's too bad, 'cause she was very interesting...
no subject
*has watched the premiere and is squeeing happily*
I'm firmly of the opinion that God had had enough of John and Mary badgering him and went "OK already! I'll give the boy a paper round!"
no subject
*snerk*
I think god was just tired of the massive wave of unbelief coming off someone as pretty as Dean.
*la*
:)
no subject
I've always wanted to know who Meg had been, once upon a time!
Girl who had one thousand and eighty-three dollars and a knife in her pack. Four pair of jeans and ten shirts and all the underwear and bras she could cram in; all the Tampax from the house. Girl who was going places, doing things - not running away, just....
Sonic boom, earthquake, what? Megan blinked - felt her mouth stretching in a grin - felt her hands lifting up to fluff her new hair. Lift a stick of dark-brown eyeliner and make the edges of her eyes dark and mysterious. Eyes that flickered and went liquid, solid black and Megan screamed.
But - "Hey, Megan. I think I wanna be called Meg. That's got more punch, don'tcha think?" Megan's tongue flicked out, touching her upper lip - Megan's feet pivoted and she sauntered out of the bathroom and Megan...wasn't there at all.
Oh, the way you describe the moment of possession, and the horrible last moment of consciousness . . . dude.
Fantastic.
Re, the amazingly unpopular fannish opinion: I thought Dean climbing out of his own grave was kinda Carrie-esque, if anything. Buffy never even crossed my mind. Though "The Serpent and the Rainbow", and "Kill Bill: Vol 2" certainly did :D
But though it reminded me of those three movies, I don't think it was a rip-off of them. There's only but so many ways to climb out of your grave, y'know? And all of them are gonna be pretty dramatic and dirty.
no subject
*twirls you*
I didn't know if the moment of possession would come across very well - so yay, i'm glad it did!
I didn't think 'Carrie' 'cause she didn't climb out, there was only a hand. I just thought - yay, Dean's alive! maybe! is this real? *jitter*...
Yes, only so many ways you can climb out of the grave....*loved the dirty. yes. dirty, raw hands, fucked voice, dirt in his hair....yesssss....*
:)
no subject
About the season premiere, did you notice the bathroom walls at the motel? I thought about you right away. I posted a recap of the episode with pictures here, and there's a good shot of Dean in the bathroom.
no subject
I *did* notice the walls - icky, huh? No wonder my Dean had a flashback.
no subject
Or hey, wait a minute. Are you really Kripke? ;-)
no subject
*cough*
:)
no subject
no subject
... My age is showing.
no subject
*pats you*
Go have a nap.
:)
*snerk*
no subject
no subject
I had the same thoughts on the Buffy homage garbage.
It was a marvelous first episode wasn't it? I was hugely impressed. What did you think of Castiel? Sam has me worried. Dean continues to rip little bits off my heart.
no subject
And yes - not an homage! Sheesh.
I adored the first episode. It really set us up for some amazing times. I hate that Sam is lying his* ass* off to Dean - just....'practically your dying wish' but he still did it! Gah!
Don't get me wrong - Powers!Sam is awesome, but....
I do *not* trust Castiel. No way he's just an angel and his god is suddenly noticing Dean. There's something else going on, i'm sure.
And no way do i trust new!Ruby, either. She's got an agenda!!
*bounce*
New ep tonight! Wheeee!